Friday, May 30, 2014

Booster Club Minutes - May 30, 2014 (approved)

Charles E Teach Booster Board meeting
May 30, 2014
Charles E Teach Elementary School – Room 27
 Board Members
Randi Barros –Co- Vice President  - absent
Dan Block – Principal/Teach School Rep
Mignon Jones – Treasurer
Vanessa Rizzo – Board member at large/4th Grade rep - absent
Morgan Robertson – Board member at large/6th Grade rep
Lori Shields – Secretary
Helen Sipsas – President
Kimberly Wormley – Co-Vice President- absent

Michael Berger
Lorraine Byde
Jessica Carlberg
Taffy Gonzales
Doris Kim
Janine Marian
James McMillen
Robin O'Leary
Brian Olson
Kurt Rightmyer- 5th Grade rep
Joyce Romero
CeRae Speidel
Christine Spurlock
Wendy Sylvester

Other Guests In Attendance

Call to Order - 8:35 am
        I.            Welcome & Introductions

      II.            Review & Approval of Minutes – Minutes from the 5/2/14 meeting were reviewed.   A motion to approve the minutes was made, seconded and carried.

    III.            Principal’s Update – Dan Block reported that the new campus is coming along.  The District has started work on tearing out old things in the rooms, and is working on figuring out things like food service.  Carpet won't be in until all rooms are available, so nothing can be moved in until carpet is installed.

    IV.            Discussion with New Principal – Dan Block introduced James McMillen, currently a teacher at Los Ranchos Elementary school, who will be the new principal for Teach Elementary school starting in the Fall of 2014.  He will be considered the principal only 50% of his work time, due to other obligations he has with the district, and due to the fact that Teach is only considered a ½ size school because it only has 4th – 6th grades.    An open question/answer period was held.  Mr. McMillen is looking forward to the challenges of Teach Elementary, and states that he is very pro-technology, and is already looking for ways to integrate technology into the classrooms next year.  He acknowledged that he considers accelerated learning is as much of  a need as other learning styles in the district, and would look forward  to the possibility of expanding Teach in the future.

      V.            Board Nominations - Helen presented the following nominations for Board officers -  Brian Olson - Treasurer;  Kimberly Wormley - President; Melinda Keller - Co-VP; Kurt Rightmeyer - Co-VP; Laura Cooper - secretary; CeRae Speidel - at large member; Robin O'Leary - at large member.  A motion to approve the minutes ^ nominations was made, seconded and carried.

    VI.            Helen reviewed Committee chair & volunteer positions – and has the following placements:
4th grade rep  - CeRae Speidel
5th Grade rep - Wendy Sylvester
6th grade  rep - Michael Berger
6th Grade Play - open
Assemblies - open
Battle of the Books - open
Book Fair – Mignon Jones
Box Tops & Labels - open
Chili Cookoff – Nara Clark
Craft Fair – Randi Barros
Dinner/Auction - Erica Stewart & Altee Vigil
Directory - open
Electives – Kurt Rightmeyer
e- & GL Scrip – Paige Wright
Facebook – Robyn O’Leary & Michael Berger
Garden Coordinator - open
Genevieve's – Pia Laurie
Hospitality - open
Ice Cream Social – Lorraine Byde
International Day - open
March-a-Thon - open
Marquee – Nell Bennet
Student Council – Kurt Rightmeyer
Teacher Appreciation Week - open
T-Shirts - open
Volunteer Coordinator - open
Webmaster – Sunshine Cowgill
Yearbook – Open

  VII.            Next Meeting:  The next meeting will be decided by the incoming Board at a future date.

VIII.            Adjournment – 9:35 am

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.